Garlic Roasted Fennels

Fennels. This has to be the most underrated root vegetables – at least in my kitchen, until recent pseudo Atkins craving kicked in during a very hungry visit to H-Mart. I can seriously say that the thought of picking one up to touch and smell has never crossed my mind. But the glorious moment that I did, I can’t stop. For one, the vegetable looks intimidating with the big bulbs and chaotic foliage greenery everywhere. Secondly, it just looks like a big fat smelly onion. Mind you, I truly love onions to no end. However, this particular vegetable just doesn’t appeal to me. How narrow minded of me now that I have tasted the most sweet and aromatic root vegetable ever!

I think fennel are best when roasted. It brings out the most sweetness in it but still retain its crunchy texture. They’re also known for being a diuretic, good for people with hypertension. Not only does it taste great but it’s also beneficial for out health!

Ingredients

2 fennel bulbs (washed, cut, and julienned)
4-5 cloves garlic (smashed lightly)
1-2 shallots julienned
Salt + Pepper
Olive Oil

Directions

  1. Turn oven to 400 degrees
  2. On a flat pan, drizzled olive oil and placed the fennels, garlic, shallots on
  3. Salt and pepper to taste
  4. Drizzle some more olive oil over the vegetables and mixed evenly
  5. Pop in the oven for about 25 min. or when the fennels have caramelized

I don’t use the foliage for the roasting so I usually cut them off.
I also cut off the bottom as well.

Julienne the fennels

Whole garlic cloves with a light smashed to bring out the garlicky aroma

Ready for roasting!

Leave a Reply

