Balsamic Chopped Liver

Inspired by two things. One, a dear friend’s love for liver. Two, a visit to a tapas joint in Miami, FL that has left my palates lingering for more Pates!

I’ve always love liver, but I think this girl got me beat, by a monk fish liver. I’ve never had that in my entire life nor have I thought about eating that. Of course, monk fish are the ugliest thing on this earth, but there are far more worse things to look at while eating. Luckily for us, we don’t have to look at the fish’s head while tastefully consuming their buttery bodies in our mouth.

However, this post is not about monk fish liver. It is about chicken liver. Growing up, every time when mom boils a whole chicken to make rice soup during the winter time, I always call first dibs on the liver. In fact, there’s nothing that mom puts on the table that I haven’t called dibs on either. I was a fat child. I needed to eat to keep me busy besides the obvious good taste in my mouth.

Ingredients
1 lb. chicken liver
2 hard boiled egg
3-4 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 medium size onion (chopped finely)
3 tbsp. butter
salt + pepper
olive oil

Directions

Before starting, boil the eggs, let it cool and peel.

Chicken Liver

1. In a hot pan, drizzle some olive oil to coat it and put in the butter
2. Sauteed the liver until the liver are no longer pink but not over cook. it will get dry and will start tasting grainy instead of smoothly. we’re looking for a smooth creamy texture. Be sure to salt + pepper the liver.
3. Once the liver are cooked, drain the liver into a separate bowl and keep the liquid into another bowl. you will need this later during blending

Balsamic Onions

4. Put the pan back onto the stove with a tbsp. of butter
5. Put in the onions along with a bit of salt + pepper to taste
5. Drizzle in the balsamic vinegar and bring the heat down to low to let the balsamic reduce down. Let it cool.

Blend/Chop the Liver

6. Meanwhile, bring out your blender and start blending the liver a little bit at a time. If it gets a little too dry, pour in some of the liquid that was saved earlier
7. After all the liver are well blended. Blend the eggs.
8. Mix all the items together in a bowl and pour in the balsamic onions. Mix well.
9. Pour into a pretty container to chill in the fridge for at least an hour or two before serving.
10. I serve mine with diagonal slices of cucumbers. I decked it out with some thyme and cracked black pepper

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

