Date with Anthony Bourdain

Had a date with Anthony Bourdain Saturday night and it was fabulous. We had such a great time and we had a lot in common. He was drinking sweet water and I had a cup of pino grigio – which I hated but it didn’t matter… He talked. I listen. Wow, what a perfect couple eh?

The guy was damn raw and funny. I like that rawness and truth in a person. They say it like it is, no secrets and unanswered questions… yet leaves you with more daring questions you couldn’t ask in the moment of it all.

Sure, he comes off as an arrogant bastard who would turn his nose away from the boring food we eat like chicken nuggets and a cheeseburger. I would too if i had the luxury of enjoying roasted bone marrow and those exotic delicacies off some mystery food cart down an alley where the locals would lined up for miles. He has every reason to be a food snob. He’s been all over the world to eat the things we didn’t know existed.

Hell, he’s been in my country eating Bun Bo Hue and Pho on the street of Ha Noi. I’m vietnamese and I’ve never been back since I left when I was 3 months old. I envy this guy’s food journeys but embraced his great food stories and the experiences he shared with me that night.

The guy drink like no other and I think that is his saving grace considering the things that he puts in his mouth. That’s one of the difference between him and Andrew Zimmerman, whom I completey adore. To be honest, I don’t see how Andrew made it through most of his shows without getting sick or his stomach pumped from the things he’s eaten. Liquor does kill a lot of bateria!

He praises Ina Garten, of whom I’ve owned 4 cookbooks from. She’s probably one of the few chefs these days that uses basic ingredients and still make something fresh and delicious without decking it out in blown up sugar to pretty it. Her cooking method is fresh and clean and crisp. And they’re not difficult to make or the ingredients are hard to find in certain areas. It’s very much from her garden.

There was only one thing I was baffled by. He doesn’t eat dogs because they’re considered pets, yet he has eaten guinea pigs. Now, I guess it could be pets to some and not to others. But being an American that he is… guinea pigs are PETS here in the states. Has he contradicted his palates at the moment? I guess i’ll never know…

Well, it was 10pm and all good things must come to an end. The night was still young but the date must end. He had to take a flight out to another state that night so there were no meet and greets as expected.

But he signed my book – Medium Raw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

