Chilled She-Crab Noodle Salad

This is such a simple dish, except getting the fresh crab meat. I did all the hard work yesterday picking out the meat so I didn’t have to do much. For those who don’t, it’s good to plan ahead and get the crabs, steam it, let it cool so you can pick the meat. Or you can cheat and run to the grocery store and buy the store bought crab meat – that works too! The other thing is to cook the vermicelli noodles and let it chill in the fridge while you’re chopping the vegetables.

Ingredients
1/2 cup she-crab meat with roes
1 small cucumbers – julienned (I have pictures below on how to do it)
a few mini sweet chili peppers (sliced into rings or julienned)
1/4 cup shredded cabbage
2 spring onions (sliced only the green part – diagonally)
Sweet Chili Fish Sauce
Vermicelli Noodles

Directions
In a big mixing bowl, add the crab meat, cucumbers, peppers, cabbage, and onions and mix together well.

In a serving bowl, add your portion of noodles and top it with the crab meat mixture and mix everything together.

Add the sweet chili fish sauce, just enough to coat everything but not drown it. Serve immediately.

Julienne cucumbers

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Joe says:

    Photos have great color

    1. karlyeats says:

      Thanks Joe!

      I lost your blog link, do you still have it? Anyways, I’ve been trying to submit these photos to tastespotting, but my composition is off so it’s been denied. 😦 I got the lighting better but i’m having problem with my composition. I guess I need to expand my mini cardboard box studio. But then my lighting will be off. Any suggestions? 🙂

  2. Charissa says:

    Love this…I’m a big salad fan and any creative twist to the basic salad gets me excited! Thanks for sharing!

    1. karlyeats says:

      Thank you Charissa. I hope you give it a try and let me know how it goes. You don’t have to use the chili fish sauce. You can definitely use something cirtrus-sy like lime with honey… that’ll taste great too!

  3. Rena says:

    This looks so delish !!!!!!

    1. karlyeats says:

      Thank you! 🙂 It’s a great summer dish!

Leave a Reply

