Taste of Alpharetta

My first Taste of Alpharetta event and I definitely wasn’t prepared for the heat, the walk and the amount of food I can pack down. From the parking lot to the actual event was about 2 miles each way… or seems like it.

Anyways, the plan was to attack all the vendors that we haven’t visited yet and then, if we had any extra tickets left, we would hit up all the rest. There were several that we didn’t stop by because they didn’t have a whole lot of offer other than disappointment. I couldn’t recall all the names, but a pub serving a cup of chips with cheese for 2 tickets was not on my agenda. My hope was to taste the best of the best dishes from each of these restaurants, even if it cost me a full sheet of tickets (Which is $5 per sheet of 10 tickets) and I had 4 sheets. 🙂

Our very first stop was to Madras Chettinaad (Indian) booth. They served their version of butter chicken with vegetable rice or chickpeas with vegetable rice for 4 tickets. It was a generous scoop of rice and chicken. The guy also let me taste the chickpeas, which were delicious. After inhaling the first dish, I immediately knew it was a bad idea to start off with such a heavy dish. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very tasty dish, just way too heavy especially when we had another 1.5 miles to go.

Next was a BBQ Chicken Slider from Miller’s Atlanta Ale House. The original sauce definitely helps with the swallowing of a very semi-dried out slider. I’m sure it taste much better when order at the restaurant rather than it sitting there for awhile. Ok for 2 tickets.

Crab Cakes from Milton’s Cuisine & Cocktails. I don’t think I would make a point to come here to eat. The crab cake was really salty, it wasn’t soggy, but just too salty for me. I thought it tasted boring, nothing stood out in terms of flavors. Not worth 6 tickets.

Chocolate Bread Pudding & Biscuit with Cranapple Butter from the Flying Biscuit. We cheated  by visiting this booth because I’ve eaten there before. But I couldn’t resist a cute biscuit for just 1 ticket.

Really really good beef taco with green sauce from Cinco Mexican Cantina for 4 tickets. The beef was cook to a medium with a mild green sauce. I just wish I had some lime to go with it.

Alpha Soda is literally down the street from my work place and I’ve yet to try. This collard green, which only cost me 1 ticket, has convinced me to must go lunch there. The only thing missing was a sweet corn bread for carbs. Otherwise, it was the perfect sweetness, although I didn’t see any bits and pieces of hamhocks, you wouldn’t miss it. 1 ticket!!

It’s been awhile since I’ve tasted good chocolate. Schakolad really did an awesome job setting up their chocolate fountain with fruit skewers for just 2 tickets. Definitely worth coming back for seconds.

I couldn’t believe how fast these things went for 2 tickets, you can get a slice of the coldest and sweetest seedless watermelon from Publix. It was so refreshing!!! Go Publix!

1 ticket for 1 mini cup of Mango Sorbet from Rita’s Italian Ice. I thought it was ok, it definitely has the mango flavor to it, but it was a bit sharp for me. It had an aftertaste to it and I couldn’t finish it.

Menchie’s Strawberry Kiwi Sorbet was absolutely amazing, especially going for 1 ticket. It’s sweet and creamy and refreshing. Doesn’t feel heavy at all. Love it.

I just learned that this place recently open and I can not wait to go have me some slimberry yogurt. I had the chocolate yogurt with oreo cookies and it was so tasty. 2 tickets.

Last but not least, I had the Salted Caramel cupcake from Jilly’s Cupcakery and I was fairly disappointed because it was very dry and the icing was way too sweet. I couldn’t even finish the entire bite size cupcake.

All in all, it definitely was an awesome experience for me. Next event, I’ll be wearing drawstring sweat pants and tennis shoes and a bottle of pepto. 🙂

Leave a Reply

